top of page

DIY Mudroom Sink


I knew I needed a serious mudroom in the farmhouse and a workhorse of a sink for all the dirty jobs of washing hands, buckets, small animals, rags, paintbrushes, and so much more. Most utility sinks aren't actually that big and if they are, they are made for commercial use and are very expensive. We needed something big, simple, and inexpensive so this galvanized sheep trough is what I ended up dreaming up for the farm.


We bought the trough with plans to build legs and a "stand" for it and we had the plumber set the plumbing for a wall faucet so that it could be separate from the sink. When I found some old wooden table legs in the barn rafters, I had Jeremy pull them down and I instantly knew they would be perfect as legs for the sink. They did need some TLC, but once I cleaned them up and added some wax, they looked amazing. Jeremy built a wooden frame to support the sink once the legs were attached and we are so pleased with how it turned out. The plumber cut and installed a drain, and we will eventually build a small ledge above the sink on the wall to hold the soap dispensers, but for now they sit down in the sink.


The sink we bought at Tractor Supply. The legs were cleaned with Howard's Lemon Oil, which revealed beautiful wood underneath the dust and grime.




Then, I added a layer of Howard's Citrus Shield Premium Paste Wax to protect the wood from moisture.




bottom of page